#AddictedToTwitter

Am I addicted to Twitter? Thats a pretty easy question….YES!

I joined Twitter in 2009, purely to see what all the fuss was about as I was always hearing some of my favorite TV personalities talking about how much they loved being on it and I was under the impression that this was THE thing to be a part of. My first few months of Twitter life were not very exciting and I was seriously considering packing it in. However this was until I started to use Twitter on my phone- this is where my love of Twitter officially began!

Fast-forward to 2013 and I am literally never off Twitter. Now I use it constantly, it is nearly the first thing I check when I wake up in the morning and at night I go through a number of refreshes before finally calling it a night. If you catch me looking and scrolling through my phone then there is about a 99% chance that I am on Twitter. I would go so far as to say that I prefer using Twitter to using Facebook. This can be backed up by my near 7000 tweets on my personal profile, however the main addiction comes from the constant scrolling of my newsfeed to see what is happening in the “twittersphere”. Scrolling through Twitter is something that has become almost as basic to me as eating, it is just far too easy and convenient to do, particularly when boredom is kicking in. So what do I see on my Twitter feed that is just too interesting? I follow nearly 900 tweeters, from WWE wrestlers like John Cena, CM Punk and The Rock, TV presenters like Alan Carr, Holly Willoughby and Keith lemon, pop stars, sports stars, news anchors, actors, comedians, models, business bloggers to even my own friends. Basically a who’s who of my interests and loves are on my Twitter feed. I must also be doing something right as I have nearly 220 followers with me treating each new follow as a monsterous achievement ( I’m catching you Bieber!) This I think is what makes Twitter superior to Facebook, you have everything that is happening to everyone in the world at the palm of your hand, in 140 characters or less.

You might read this and think that I need to get out more, and you may be right, but I am far from the only person that has problem. If you take a look at some of these facts you may be surprised to learn that Twitter is indeed a fundamental part of life in the 21st century. On average 750 tweets are sent per second, this means that while you have been reading this already over 10,000 tweets have probably been sent worldwide. These kind of stats are what have made certain mediums like TV and radio to embrace the twitter craze. It is very rare to watch a program like The X Factor or The Voice these days without the show executives encouraging you to communicate and interact through twitter by using a certain hashtag while watching the show-again this is something I nearly always end up doing.

However like any addiction, there can be some bad cases and stories of people who have had their lives consumed by tweeting, take a read of this article from The Huffington Post or this addiction story. No doubt these kind of stories can make you reconsider your use of Twitter, or if you aren’t on it already make you not want to join. However for me, Twitter will still remain a big part of my social media life although I will always try and make sure it does not completely consume me, or I might end up like the guy in this video

Convinced? Are you too addicted to Twitter? Make sure to comment and tell me your stories……or follow me on twitter! @hdoylemarketing (professional) @HDSunrise (personal)

Tweet on

Leave a comment